Off the wire
UN chief names French diplomat as new peacekeeping head  • Mexico calls on LatAm to champion globality, free trade  • Polish government adopts new plan to increase income  • Uganda sends troops to Equatorial Guinea for capacity building  • U.S. stocks keep rising amid Yellen's testimony  • Chile denies it will lead regional opposition to Trump's protectionism  • WTO predicts moderate global trade momentum in Q1  • 1st LD Writethru: Chinese wine Noble Dragon sells 100,000 bottles in Spain  • NYM Holding, Inc. merges with E-compass Acquisition Corp.  • Merkel presses Tunisian PM on asylum solution  
You are here:   Home

Winners of 18th Laureus World Sports Awards

Xinhua, February 15, 2017 Adjust font size:

Following are the winners of the 18th Laureus World Sports Awards announced in Monaco on Tuesday:

Sportsman of the Year Award

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) Athletics - won the 100, 200 and 4x100 meters relay gold medals at the Rio Olympics

Sportswoman of the Year Award

Simone Biles (United States) Gymnastics - won four gold medals and a bronze at the Rio Olympics

Team of the Year Award

Chicago Cubs (United States) Baseball - won their first World Series for 108 years, ending one of the longest droughts in sport

Breakthrough of the Year Award

Nico Rosberg (Germany) Motor Racing - won the world title for the first time in 2016

Comeback of the Year Award

Michael Phelps (United States) Swimming - won five gold medals and one silver at the Rio Olympics

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award

Beatrice Vio (Italy) Wheelchair Fencing

Action Sportsperson of the Year Award

Rachel Atherton (Britain) Mountain Biking - became the first rider to win all seven rounds of the UCI Downhill World Cup

Spirit of Sport Award

Leicester City (Britain) Football

Sport for Good Award

Waves for Change

Sporting Inspiration

Refugee Olympic Team

Best Sporting Moment

Barcelona U12 Team