You are here: Home

UN Commission on the Status of Women Established

Adjust font size:

June 21, 1946

 The United Nations Economic and Social Council established the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) which consisted of 15 member states, as a mechanism to promote, report on and monitor issues relating to the political, economic, civil, social and educational rights of women. The Declaration on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women of 1967 is among the several conventions and declarations the CSW has drafted.


Through the efforts of the CSW, the UN General Assembly adopted the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), which primarily defined exactly what constitutes discrimination against women.

( March 3, 2010)

Related News & Photos